• Sign in
  • |
  • Sign up

McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago

1301 N. ElstonChicago, IL 60642
1-888-394-78561-888-394-7856
  • Chat for instant answers
  •  Visit our website 
  •  Finance a vehicle with us
  •  Like 
  •  Follow 

Services and Amenities

  • Service Centers
  • Factory Authorized Service Center
  • Body Shop
  • Loaner Cars
  • Parts & Accessories
  • Courtesy Shuttle
  • Detailing
  • Business Center
  • Internet Access
  • Handicapped Accessible
  • Comfortable Waiting Area
  • Children's Play Area
  • Delivery Options
View all services and amenities

Why You Should Buy a New Car From Us

Why Buy at McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago Free first oil change service Free Parking Free unlimited car washes Full service café with complimentary Starbucks & Dun ... Read more
Why Buy at McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago Free first oil change service Free Parking Free unlimited car washes Full service café with complimentary Starbucks & Dunkin Donuts coffee Personal computer access & free wi-fi 70 Loaner vehicles Flat screen TVs in over 5 customer lounge areas Children's room equipped with toys, games & video Complimentary shuttle service to & from our dealership Exclusive Coupons for our Service Department Remember, you pay taxes where you live, not where you buy!

Why You Should Buy a Used Car From Us

Why Buy at McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago Free unlimited car washes Free Parking Full service café with complimentary Starbucks & Dunkin Donuts coffee Personal compu ... Read more
Why Buy at McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago Free unlimited car washes Free Parking Full service café with complimentary Starbucks & Dunkin Donuts coffee Personal computer access & free wi-fi 70 Loaner vehicles Flat screen TVs in over 5 customer lounge areas Children's room equipped with toys, games & video Complimentary shuttle service to & from our dealership Exclusive Coupons for our Service Department Remember, you pay taxes where you live, not where you buy!
Your Search Clear All
All Cars
Modify Your Results
A certified pre-owned car has passed a strict inspection by the original manufacturer and is backed by an extended warranty.
Some brands group models with similar body styles together. (Ex: BMW 3 Series or Mercedes-Benz C-Class)
Trim refers to both exterior and interior options that enchance a base model. (Ex: Ford Mustang GT or Honda Accord EX)
These dealers accept offers from our Trade-In Marketplace, which determines the value of your car and provides an instant, free offer. Offers are guaranteed as long as the car's condition and information are verified.
1000,2000,3000,4000,5000,6000,7000,8000,9000,10000,11000,12000,13000,14000,15000,16000,17000,18000,19000,20000,22000,24000,26000,28000,30000,35000,40000,45000,50000,55000,60000,65000,70000,75000,80000,85000,90000,95000,100000$1,000,$2,000,$3,000,$4,000,$5,000,$6,000,$7,000,$8,000,$9,000,$10,000,$11,000,$12,000,$13,000,$14,000,$15,000,$16,000,$17,000,$18,000,$19,000,$20,000,$22,000,$24,000,$26,000,$28,000,$30,000,$35,000,$40,000,$45,000,$50,000,$55,000,$60,000,$65,000,$70,000,$75,000,$80,000,$85,000,$90,000,$95,000,$100,000

Style

Choose more »

Make

Choose more »

Exterior Color

Choose more »

Engine

Features

Choose more »

Interior Color

Choose more »

Doors

Page 1 of 6 
You have already selected three cars.
Next »

Dealer Ratings

24-Month Overall Rating
  • 4.7
    Customer Service
  • 4.6
    Quality Of Work
  • 4.8
    Friendliness
  • 4.6
    Overall Experience
  • 4.4
    Price

Dealership Reviews

1 - 5 of 52 
imcc032511/26/2014 12:33:37 PM
5.0
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Quality Of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Price
Reason for My Visit:SALES(NEW)
Would I Recommend this Dealer:Yes
Who Helped Me:Noble Jones,James Licardie,Thomas Whitfield
Thomas was the point man in my purchase. He made this an exceptional experience that was stress free. He even came in on his day off just to meet my schedule. while we had to wait a short period for accessories to be installed, I suggested that he go home but he refused and stayed there until the car was delivered and I was completely satisfied. This was above and beyond what other dealers would have done. A big Thank you to Thomas for a job well done. Also, my thanks and appreciation to the entire staff at McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago. I will not hesitate to recommend your dealership to friends and family.
Juliajcampbell9/28/2014 07:02:40 PM
4.8
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Quality Of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Price
Reason for My Visit:SALES(NEW)
Would I Recommend this Dealer:Yes
Who Helped Me:Thomas Whitfield
Thomas was personable and extremely knowledgeable about the vehicle. We felt personally taken care of throughout the process. His style was friendly and knowledgeable but not overbearing - he was honest and realistic, not a pushy and impatient salesperson. We trusted him and are glad we did. We love our new Acura!
ShawnNRonnie9/06/2014 09:21:25 PM
3.8
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Quality Of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Price
Reason for My Visit:SALES(USED)
Would I Recommend this Dealer:Yes
Who Helped Me:Huxley Belizaire,Melissa Kann
Happy with my 2006 BMW 330Xi I purchased here. Huxley was my salesman and was very helpful and friendly. Had a couple issues at the start however Melissa (customer relations manager) took care of it right away and made the issues go away. Thanks Huxley and Melissa
User6349/04/2014 08:29:41 PM
1.6
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Quality Of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Price
Reason for My Visit:SALES(USED)
Would I Recommend this Dealer:No
Who Helped Me:Noble Jones,Holly Jack,Erik Nielsen
It's unfortunate that I've come to write this review, but my experience was so surprisingly negative that I hope to warn others that this dealership is nothing special and uses all the same tricks as any other dealership. Do not be deceived by the smiles, fancy clothes and smooth paperwork process. Not only did they do everything to maximize their profit at literally every single turn, but their actions lead to entirely unacceptable results, and in my case, a potentially unsafe situation. While there were a number things they did that I found entirely unacceptable, and which I will describe below, the four most outrageous were: 1) not returning the $1280 ($1500 deposit less trade-in deficit) they owed me for two weeks after I took delivery of the car and only after I aggressively complained, 2) failing to complete the work promised prior to attempting to deliver the car to me, and ultimately poorly Jerry-Rigging the work rather than buying the $19 parts necessary to do it properly, 3) attempting to deceive me on several occasions as described below, and 4) failing to adequately repair the car prior to sale; I took the car to another dealership very soon after taking delivery and they found $2600 worth of necessary repairs, including a leaking rear differential, leaking radiator and water pump, and a leaking transfer case. To provide additional detail on the above and a few more examples 1) Self explanatory, but see 3 below. 2a) The spare tire on the used car I bought was not mounted properly and part of our agreement was that the tire would be mounted as a condition of sale. When I came to pick up the car this simply wasn't done (see also 3). Similarly, they said they would fix the front passenger speaker since almost no sound comes out when only that speaker is selected through the balance/fade controls - this was not done, and when I pushed back they said I just needed to sit in the passenger seat to hear it - I took delivery of the car anyway in disgust to avoid the ongoing pain of dealing with them. 2b) When they finally did mount the spare tire, rather than purchasing the $19 wing-nut and cap to hold the spare tire against the car, they used the emergency spare tire socket wrench and a regular nut to hold the spare tire in. This didn't work and the spare tire was violently shaking during the ride home. Not surprisingly the regular nut was the wrong size and forced onto the screw and I therefore couldn't remove the violently shaking tire - if I had gotten a flat I would've been in a terrible and unsafe situation - entirely unacceptable. I have since bought the necessary parts on my own so that I can drive my car safely. 3) Deception is par for the course for any dealership, but in this case it was obvious enough that I noticed it - really poor form from a business perspective and even worse for customer relations. The examples are as follows: 3a) As described above, the dealership owed me $1280 as a result of the deposit I made on the car less the difference between the price of the car and fees and the trade-in allowance. I would expect a dealership to have this check ready to give to me upon delivery - it can't be too difficult to write a check, but they promised it would be mailed to me at work the next week with delivery the next Friday at the latest - I apprehensively left with my car. The next Saturday I contacted Holly to tell her I hadn't gotten the check as promised, and she said it would be sent Monday. The next Thursday I didn't have it yet and contacted her again with no response. That Friday, now two weeks from delivery, I called her. Noble called me back and told me that they tried delivering it to my work the previous week but that it was returned with a note saying I didn't work there. That's clearly untrue as I've received lots of mail at work (it's part of my job), and the mail-room accepts mail even without a listed recipient (again part of my job). They also had my business card, so there's no excuse for improper address. He had a car porter drive the check over and lo and behold the check was dated only the day before. 3b) As described above, the spare tire was not mounted when they first attempted to give me the car. They claimed that the reason for this was because the part necessary could only be gotten at a Jeep dealership and the mechanic they sent got caught in traffic and couldn't come in before his shift ended. This is clearly untrue as they didn't use any Jeep parts to fix the problem and instead poorly Jerry-Rigged a solution that proved to be unsafe. 3c) When the spare tire wasn't mounted as described above and other work not completed I told them I would not take delivery of the car until this was completed. Holly told me that I would have to take delivery that day because the wholesaler that had agreed to purchase the trade-in had arranged to pick it up that day. This is clearly untrue because a) my ability to pick up the car in the first place was uncertain as I had told Holly by email, b) Noble ultimately said it wouldn't be a problem to not take delivery and c) upon actually taking delivery the trade-in was sold (or at least advertised) directly by the dealership. 3d) When negotiating the price of the trade-in Holly said that the Edmunds TMV was only $4000, suggesting that she couldn't go any higher. This was clearly untrue as I had done my research and the Edmunds trade-in value was ~$7200. When I offered $7000, she went to the back room and the counter-offer was $6000. I asked for $6500 and she said that shouldn't be a problem at all. It's quite clear that the $4000 low-ball price was an attempt to take advantage of someone that had done little previous research, and merely proving that I knew what something about what I was talking about saved me over $2000. 4) I was told that the car had passed McGrath's inspection and was in good working condition. I took a look under the car and everything seemed to be fine, there was what appeared to be a wet spot on the rear differential, but I didn't think much of it (I'm not a mechanic and had to trust them). A few days after the car had been sitting in the garage I noticed an oil spot on the ground under the rear differential. I took the car to a different dealership and they identified $2600 in needed repairs, including two leaks to the rear differential, a transfer case leak, and a leaking radiator and water pump. These repairs would be clearly noticeable to any competent mechanic, and it's very disappointing that they weren't resolved by the dealership before attempting to sell the car. I could forgive not changing old fluids, but selling a car that leaks fluid on the ground is what I'd expect from a shady used car lot, not what purports to be a premium dealership. 5) When completing the paperwork for the car, the odometer disclosure Power of Attorney form stated something like "Warning: this form is only to be used if the title is lost, or there is a previous incorrect odometer reading on record." Neither of these situations were true and I brought this up to Erik. He said something like "I know the verbiage in the form, please sign it". I kindly clarified that the form has a clear warning stating that it is only to be used in certain situations, none of which were the case here. He ignored me and then ultimately further pressured me into signing the document. It was really shockingly poor treatment. It was clear that he was just trying to get me in and out of the office as quickly as possible and could care less about my concerns and his improper use of the form.
McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago responded to this review
9/05/2014
We are sorry to hear that your experience did not reflect McGrath’s usual standard of excellence. Prior to taking delivery of the vehicle, all items were in proper working order. Due to the fact that the vehicle is over 13 years old & you purchased it in June, there may be some items that would have required maintenance and could not have been foreseen. After doing some research we have found that this vehicle was advertised/sold as is shown, without a factory warranty or a McGrath warranty. We do apologize for the late delivery of the check; However, we did try to make up for this by hand-delivering it to you. It is a McGrath policy to have every customer with a trade-in fill out an Odometer Disclosure & Power of Attorney from; We do believe that Erik should have done a better job explaining the forms to you & why they needed to be signed. Should you like to schedule a meeting with our client relations manager please call Melissa Hansen: Melissa Hansen Manager of Client Relations McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago 773.336.6300 ext. 3645
SG248/26/2014 01:57:34 PM
5.0
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Quality Of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Price
Reason for My Visit:SALES(NEW)
Would I Recommend this Dealer:Yes
Who Helped Me:James Licardie,Jerry Jack
My wife and I had dealt with a lot of bad experiences at other dealerships before coming to McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago. That all changed when we entered the showroom and started working with Jerry Jack. Jerry was very honest and knowledgeable from the start. You can immediately tell that he cares about his customers and wants to make sure they are fully informed and comfortable before making a decision. We left with a 2015 RDX and couldn't be happier. We worked with James in finance, who was also awesome! He made it a quick and enjoyable process. Normally, signing all of those documents is never enjoyable. Bottom line, the entire staff is very welcoming here and I highly recommend it over any other dealership in the city.
Next »
This image is a stock photo and is not an exact representation of any vehicle offered for sale. Advertised vehicles of this model may have styling, trim levels, colors and optional equipment that differ from the stock photo.
Close 
AutoTrader.com